Skip to content

3 high-flying French SMEs serving the innovative application of one of them, CSTM, which is developing its own high-speed electric motor, has encountered a hard point in torque measurement. It must be contactless, precise, without added inertia, without constraint and in addition at very high speed (100,000 rpm) ......


Torque measurement without torque meter: oxymorons or paradoxes?


François Dugué, director of CSTM, explains in detail his engine and its requirements:
We are strongly concerned with high-speed rotating machines, particularly for aeronautics and space, whether for test benches or for prototypes of on-board equipment. In this context, we are developing an electric motor with a mechanical power of 52 kW at 100,000 rpm, which does not exist on the market, and which can meet the needs of several of our customers. For its development, we had to measure speed and torque. But, above 25,000 rpm there was no torque meter on the market.


To measure at these high speeds We obviously need a very fast and precise reference speed sensor for this: the world reference is OPTEL THEVON, designing its sensors in Paris. We chose the 152M model from OPTEL THEVON Cf. Figure 4, which has many advantages on the scientific and practical level with TTL and Analogue outputs; This standard product presents a truly exceptional dynamic, as well as an ease of assembly and use, (The installation simply requires for each sensor a marking on the shaft alternating a reflective surface and a matt surface, as well as an optical fiber support The installation and adjustment of the optical sensor is then of the order of 10 min). The advantages of these optical probes are their precision which makes it possible to put many marks on a small diameter as well as their insensitivity to electromagnetic pollution. No wonder Porsche, Toyota and all the other majors use OPTEL THEVON products around the world.
Thanks to the VIB 360 application from French Impédance, with its acyclism extraction algorithm created by Dr Hamid SAIAH, we can measure the speed, torque, acyclisms and eigenmodes of the shaft line, and with two sensors 152M each located on a tone wheel on either side of a shaft portion of known stiffness, the high speed torque meter is produced.


Hamid Sahia and his team have been developing and using algorithms for machine vibration diagnostics for many years in conjunction with CSTM. Its algorithms are really impressive as shown by validation tests with a commercial torque meter, tests carried out at Supélec where a precision better than 10-3 angular degrees was observed, ie 0.02% of the torque considered at low speed.
The strength of this torque meter, using very high dynamic OPTEL THEVON sensors, is that the measurement can be performed at low speed on large rotors and theoretically at speeds greater than 200,000 revolutions per minute with the same angular precision, if the acquisition frequency is suitable.
Article proposal / grand premiere
Our recent tests up to 85,000 rpm, with two 152M sensors on an electric motor test bench designed and produced by CSTM, see Figure 1, have led to exceptional results. In fact, the torque measurements perfectly follow the predictions of the calculation. By comparing the torque measured against the braking torque of the aerodynamic brake that we calculated in digital fluid mechanics (CFD), we validate at high speed both the calculations and the torque meter which is of course the more precise of the two, such as This is shown by the low dispersion of the measurement points compared to their trend curve.

For more information, meet at our stand C10 during the MEASUREMENT WORLD trade fair…

 

+33(0)1 43 58 75 26            info@optel-thevon.fr          www.optel-thevon.com

Share on :

Do not wait any longer
join us

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench de_DEGerman en_USEnglish
Scroll To Top

Mesure de couple de moteur élèctrique à très haute vitesse avec OPTEL THEVON…

3 PME Françaises de haut vol au service de l’application innovante de l’une d’entre elle, CSTM qui développe son propre moteur électrique haute vitesse rencontre un point dur dans la mesure du couple. Elle doit être sans contact, précise, sans inertie ajoutée, sans contrainte et de surcroît à très haute vitesse ( 100 000 Tr/mn)……


Une mesure de couple sans couplemètre : oxymores ou paradoxes ?


François Dugué directeur de la société CSTM nous explique dans le détail son moteur et ses exigences :
Nous sommes fortement concernés par les machines tournantes à haute vitesse, notamment pour l’aéronautique et le spatial que ce soit pour des bancs d’essais ou pour des prototypes d’équipements embarqués. Nous développons dans ce cadre, un moteur électrique d’une puissance mécanique de 52 kW à 100 000 tr/min inexistant sur le marché, et pouvant répondre aux besoins de plusieurs de nos clients. Pour sa mise au point, il nous fallait mesurer la vitesse et le couple. Mais, au-delà de 25000 tr/min il n’y avait pas de couplemètre dans le commerce.


Pour mesurer à ces vitesse élevée Il nous faut bien sûr un capteur de vitesse référent, très rapide et précis, pour cela : la référence mondiale c’est OPTEL THEVON concevant ses capteurs à Paris. Nous avons choisi le model 152M d’OPTEL THEVON Cf. Figure 4, qui présente de nombreux avantages sur le plan scientifique et pratique disposant de sorties TTL et Analogique ; Ce produit standard présente une dynamique vraiment exceptionnelle, ainsi qu’une facilité de montage et d’emploi, (La mise en place nécessite simplement pour chaque capteur un marquage sur l’arbre en alternant une surface réfléchissante et une surface mate, ainsi qu’un support de fibre optique. La mise en place et le réglage du capteur optique est ensuite de l’ordre de 10 min). Les avantages de ces sondes optiques est leur précision qui permet de mettre de nombreuses marques sur un faible diamètre ainsi que leur insensibilités aux pollutions électromagnétiques. Ce n’est pas étonnant que Porsche, Toyota et tous les autres majors utilisent les produits OPTEL THEVON dans le monde.
Grace à l’application VIB 360 du Français Impédance, fort de son algorithme d’extraction des acyclismes créé par le Dr Hamid SAIAH, nous pouvons mesurer la vitesse, le couple , les acyclismes et les modes propres de la ligne d’arbre, et avec deux capteurs 152M situés chacun sur une roue phonique de part et d’autre d’une portion d’arbre de raideur connue le couplemètre haute vitesse est réalisé.


Hamid Sahia et son équipe développe et utilise depuis de nombreuses années en relation avec CSTM des algorithmes pour le diagnostic vibratoire des machines. Ses algorithmes sont vraiment impressionnants comme le montre des essais de validation avec un couplemètre du commerce, essais réalisés à Supélec où une précision meilleure que 10-3 degrés angulaire a été constatée soit 0,02% du couple considéré à faible vitesse.
La force de ce couplemètre, à l’aide des capteurs OPTEL THEVON à très haute dynamique est que la mesure est réalisable à faible vitesse sur des gros rotors et théoriquement à des vitesses supérieures à 200 000 tours par minute avec la même précision angulaire, si la fréquence d’acquisition est adaptée.
Proposition article/grande première
Nos récents essais jusqu’à 85 000 tr/min, avec deux capteurs 152M sur un banc d’essais de moteur électrique conçu et réalisé par CSTM, Cf. Figure 1, ont conduit à des résultats exceptionnels. En effet les mesures de couple suivent parfaitement les prévisions du calcul. En comparant le couple mesuré par rapport au couple de freinage du frein aérodynamique que nous avons calculé en mécanique des fluides numériques (CFD), nous validons à haute vitesse aussi bien les calculs que le couplemètre qui est bien sûr le plus précis des deux, comme le montre la faible dispersion des points de mesure par rapport à leur courbe de tendance.

Pour plus d’informations RDV sur notre stand C10 durant le salon MEASUREMENT WORLD  …

 

+33(0)1 43 58 75 26            info@optel-thevon.fr          www.optel-thevon.com

Partager sur :

N’attendez-plus
rejoignez-nous